setting up elevators? how?
setting up elevators? how?
i want to include an elevator from one elevation on my map to another, i have made it the same as the elevator in the toxic caves, and have put the zselev01 spatial scritp inside the lift like it has in the toxic caves.. but my lifts don't work.
i've looked in the script files for the toxic caves map and it is not defined there, and i have looked in the header files it includes, and the definition is not there either.
there is no option to set the destinstipn map / elevation in the lift's script, or in the zselev01 script..
so where do you set it?
since a lift can have multiple destinations, then how do you set it up???
also, i have set librarian mode to 1 in the cfg file, should it open another menu or something since it still looks the same and i still cannot edit proto's..
i've looked in the script files for the toxic caves map and it is not defined there, and i have looked in the header files it includes, and the definition is not there either.
there is no option to set the destinstipn map / elevation in the lift's script, or in the zselev01 script..
so where do you set it?
since a lift can have multiple destinations, then how do you set it up???
also, i have set librarian mode to 1 in the cfg file, should it open another menu or something since it still looks the same and i still cannot edit proto's..
i found a tile in the scenery list that says elevator stub.. but it doesn't put anything on the map, like the blocker tiles or the light scource, just a red hex on the grid. ( yes i know about the "toggle show blockers" option in the menu. )
since it has no tile, or even a hidden tile, i cannot select it to edit it, if indeed it has variables to edit.. or to delete it even...???
i think i might try making a simple map and save it as the toxic caves map to see if it is hard coded... something to do with the map index no's??
since it has no tile, or even a hidden tile, i cannot select it to edit it, if indeed it has variables to edit.. or to delete it even...???
i think i might try making a simple map and save it as the toxic caves map to see if it is hard coded... something to do with the map index no's??
- Red
- Hero of the Glowing Lands
- Posts: 2085
- Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 11:58 am
- Location: Nowhere (important anyway)
- Contact:
Simple solution, replace the elevstub.frm with another frm (I suggest an unused art one as otherwise you might get confused on existing maps.
Still need to figure out the relation between the stub and the spatial script (ie: why does it choose that stub rather then another in a map where there are two stubs, like in SAD).
Also, how 4level elevators work together, since there's no map specified in the elevator stub, just the type of panel you see and which level you're currently on.
Still need to figure out the relation between the stub and the spatial script (ie: why does it choose that stub rather then another in a map where there are two stubs, like in SAD).
Also, how 4level elevators work together, since there's no map specified in the elevator stub, just the type of panel you see and which level you're currently on.
...
yer.. i got it after i replied.. just change the actual art file for it..
i though you ment doing it in the proto edit bit where you can cycle through the images ..
i made my own.. a hex with elvstb in it.. works great.. now that i can get into it to edit it..
i've had a look at the maps, and come up with a bit of a list of types.. but it looks like the types are coded somewhere..
i made a test map, and got the elevator working, sort of..
i walked in, and the buttons came up, but when i pressed for the next floor down ( yes i set up the other elevators on the other levels ) it sent me to the second floor of vault 13... ( type 8 )
i though you ment doing it in the proto edit bit where you can cycle through the images ..
i made my own.. a hex with elvstb in it.. works great.. now that i can get into it to edit it..
i've had a look at the maps, and come up with a bit of a list of types.. but it looks like the types are coded somewhere..
i made a test map, and got the elevator working, sort of..
i walked in, and the buttons came up, but when i pressed for the next floor down ( yes i set up the other elevators on the other levels ) it sent me to the second floor of vault 13... ( type 8 )
- Red
- Hero of the Glowing Lands
- Posts: 2085
- Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 11:58 am
- Location: Nowhere (important anyway)
- Contact:
Yeah, that's actually something that scares me... Wether they're hardcoded... I did a search in the .EXE and there's nothing specific to vault13/v13 so I don't know.
Here's the list of types, from DEFINE.H:
#define ELEV_BOS1 (0) // Brotherhood of Steel main elevator
#define ELEV_BOS2 (1) // Brotherhood of Steel surface elevator
#define ELEV_MASTR1 (2) // Master's upper-level elevator
#define ELEV_MASTR2 (3) // Master's lower-level elevator
#define ELEV_MILB1 (4) // Military Base upper-level elevator
#define ELEV_MILB2 (5) // Military Base lower-level elevator
#define ELEV_GLOW1 (6) // Glow Elevator upper
#define ELEV_GLOW2 (7) // Glow elevator lower
#define ELEV_VAULT (8) // Vault13 elevator
#define ELEV_NECVLT (9) // Necropolis elevator
#define ELEV_SIERRA1 (10) // Sierra Elev 1 (1-2-3)
#define ELEV_SIERRA2 (11) // Sierra Elev 2 (3-4)
#define ELEV_SIERRAS (12) // Sierra Service Elev (1-2-3-4)
Note that there are others:
18,19,20,21: Navaro elevators
22: SF BOS elevator
I'm starting to wonder wether the game actually looks at all the maps until it finds the first match of an elevator of the same type? Although still, how would it know which graphic to draw... I need to actually do some tests...
Here's the list of types, from DEFINE.H:
#define ELEV_BOS1 (0) // Brotherhood of Steel main elevator
#define ELEV_BOS2 (1) // Brotherhood of Steel surface elevator
#define ELEV_MASTR1 (2) // Master's upper-level elevator
#define ELEV_MASTR2 (3) // Master's lower-level elevator
#define ELEV_MILB1 (4) // Military Base upper-level elevator
#define ELEV_MILB2 (5) // Military Base lower-level elevator
#define ELEV_GLOW1 (6) // Glow Elevator upper
#define ELEV_GLOW2 (7) // Glow elevator lower
#define ELEV_VAULT (8) // Vault13 elevator
#define ELEV_NECVLT (9) // Necropolis elevator
#define ELEV_SIERRA1 (10) // Sierra Elev 1 (1-2-3)
#define ELEV_SIERRA2 (11) // Sierra Elev 2 (3-4)
#define ELEV_SIERRAS (12) // Sierra Service Elev (1-2-3-4)
Note that there are others:
18,19,20,21: Navaro elevators
22: SF BOS elevator
I'm starting to wonder wether the game actually looks at all the maps until it finds the first match of an elevator of the same type? Although still, how would it know which graphic to draw... I need to actually do some tests...
...
i've just gone through all of the types ( 23 types ) and where the buttons take you..
looks like it might be hard coded to go to specific map indexes.. type 1 ( i forgot to check if there was a type 0.. duh.. ) goes to the klamath still map with the "G" button, and the Klamath Grazing map ( torr bug men map ) with the "1" button, so it looks about right.. one would have been the BOS surface map, the other the first level of the BOS bunker...
so it looks like we ought to make a list of elevator types and where they go ( both the map name, and the index number), so people can use them in a mod.. or re-name their maps to suit what type of elevator they want.. ( the easy way without editing the maps.txt file )
on a side note, where in the world are you?
i only ask so i got a rough idea what times my end i can reasonably expect a reply.. since i'm on GMT..
it's zero dark 29 here... ( 0:29 )
looks like it might be hard coded to go to specific map indexes.. type 1 ( i forgot to check if there was a type 0.. duh.. ) goes to the klamath still map with the "G" button, and the Klamath Grazing map ( torr bug men map ) with the "1" button, so it looks about right.. one would have been the BOS surface map, the other the first level of the BOS bunker...
so it looks like we ought to make a list of elevator types and where they go ( both the map name, and the index number), so people can use them in a mod.. or re-name their maps to suit what type of elevator they want.. ( the easy way without editing the maps.txt file )
on a side note, where in the world are you?
i only ask so i got a rough idea what times my end i can reasonably expect a reply.. since i'm on GMT..
it's zero dark 29 here... ( 0:29 )
- Red
- Hero of the Glowing Lands
- Posts: 2085
- Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 11:58 am
- Location: Nowhere (important anyway)
- Contact:
EST, 8:45pm/20:45; seeing my title you should have a pretty good idea where I'm at, specially adding I speak French. I beleive replied about 15 minutes after you I beleive...
Drats, hardcoded in the maps.txt numbers, why didn't I see that... That darn arroyo hardcoded map start map confused me .
So I take it after those numbers it just stops working?
Way I see it though it'll probably be handyer to actually edit maps.txt even though it entails other big changes.
Drats, hardcoded in the maps.txt numbers, why didn't I see that... That darn arroyo hardcoded map start map confused me .
So I take it after those numbers it just stops working?
Way I see it though it'll probably be handyer to actually edit maps.txt even though it entails other big changes.
...
i didn't mean you were slow in responding mate.. i meant that i wanted to know roughly what times i could expect an answer from you.. like i don't expect you to answer in the middle of the night..Red wrote:EST, 8:45pm/20:45; seeing my title you should have a pretty good idea where I'm at, specially adding I speak French. I beleive replied about 15 minutes after you I beleive...
as for your title, i though that might be a refference to the canadian occupation in the fallout story.
i'll get a table put together on my website with the elevator types and destinaton map names and indexes..
and yet it doesn't mention the other elevators..Red wrote:Yeah, that's actually something that scares me... Wether they're hardcoded... I did a search in the .EXE and there's nothing specific to vault13/v13 so I don't know.
Here's the list of types, from DEFINE.H:
#define ELEV_BOS1 (0) // Brotherhood of Steel main elevator
#define ELEV_BOS2 (1) // Brotherhood of Steel surface elevator
#define ELEV_MASTR1 (2) // Master's upper-level elevator
#define ELEV_MASTR2 (3) // Master's lower-level elevator
#define ELEV_MILB1 (4) // Military Base upper-level elevator
#define ELEV_MILB2 (5) // Military Base lower-level elevator
#define ELEV_GLOW1 (6) // Glow Elevator upper
#define ELEV_GLOW2 (7) // Glow elevator lower
#define ELEV_VAULT (8) // Vault13 elevator
#define ELEV_NECVLT (9) // Necropolis elevator
#define ELEV_SIERRA1 (10) // Sierra Elev 1 (1-2-3)
#define ELEV_SIERRA2 (11) // Sierra Elev 2 (3-4)
#define ELEV_SIERRAS (12) // Sierra Service Elev (1-2-3-4)
Note that there are others:
18,19,20,21: Navaro elevators
22: SF BOS elevator
I'm starting to wonder wether the game actually looks at all the maps until it finds the first match of an elevator of the same type? Although still, how would it know which graphic to draw... I need to actually do some tests...
maybe you're right...
it might look for instances of a type, and set the drawing from the elevation data.. ie type 29 has 2 stops.. 0 and 1, so it puts a G, 1 control on.. type 30 has 4 stops.. on 2 different maps.. so it puts 1,2,3,4 controls on.. type 38 has 3 stops but on levels 0, 1, and 5.. so it puts 1,2,5 controls on.. and so on..
it might do that when you do a rebuild ALL maps thing..i'll give it a try.. and get back to you...
- Red
- Hero of the Glowing Lands
- Posts: 2085
- Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 11:58 am
- Location: Nowhere (important anyway)
- Contact:
And I meant it in an easy way to relatte my time to your time... Ie: 0:30 == 20:30 my time, whilst removing said 15 minutes.ColJack wrote:i didn't mean you were slow in responding mate.. i meant that i wanted to know roughly what times i could expect an answer from you.. like i don't expect you to answer in the middle of the night..
And I doubt it works the way I epxlained, since some elevators (say BOS) have specific graphics...
But well, you never know
...
ah well, nevermind then..
but on a side note, how did they add elevators to fallout 2 that were not in fallout 1.. and at least 1 elevator is missing.. the 4,5,6 one from the glow..
unless it is something stupid like 36.. since i only tried a few past 24, and assumed that they would be sequential..
there is a section in one of the header files that says "elevator defines" but it's blank.. so i'm wondering if it was done at a late date and is in the compiled script for zselev01..??? ( they do say we don't have the scource.. just what they could gather together.. )
gonna get me a de-compiler and have a look at that script..
but on a side note, how did they add elevators to fallout 2 that were not in fallout 1.. and at least 1 elevator is missing.. the 4,5,6 one from the glow..
unless it is something stupid like 36.. since i only tried a few past 24, and assumed that they would be sequential..
there is a section in one of the header files that says "elevator defines" but it's blank.. so i'm wondering if it was done at a late date and is in the compiled script for zselev01..??? ( they do say we don't have the scource.. just what they could gather together.. )
gonna get me a de-compiler and have a look at that script..
- Red
- Hero of the Glowing Lands
- Posts: 2085
- Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 11:58 am
- Location: Nowhere (important anyway)
- Contact:
Originally the elevators were mostly scripted I beleive. Either way, they hardcoded it in FO2 so it barely makes a difference. They had full source code of Fallout so it wouldn't have been a problem to add new elevators they wanted...
As for the missing Glaw elevator, chances are it got "overridden" by the newer elevators (eg: SAD).
As for the missing Glaw elevator, chances are it got "overridden" by the newer elevators (eg: SAD).
...
Such a pity, that Fallout engine hasn't commands to draw graphics on screen, something such as DrawFRM(name,x,y) and mouse-reading proc (GetMouseXY)... then making of new elevators would be piece of cake 8(
But we have that we have. So we can get perverted 8) and make maybe not funky, but working elevators. Spatial script to move to between 2 levels is easy thing. Multi-level elevators can be maked by keycards - just use specific keycard on elev - and we are on needed floor. I think its very logical and easy solution.
But we have that we have. So we can get perverted 8) and make maybe not funky, but working elevators. Spatial script to move to between 2 levels is easy thing. Multi-level elevators can be maked by keycards - just use specific keycard on elev - and we are on needed floor. I think its very logical and easy solution.
In this world there are two kinds of people, my friend...those with Power of Moon Prism, and those who dig. You dig.
Such a pity, that Fallout engine hasn't commands to draw graphics on screen, something such as DrawFRM(name,x,y) and mouse-reading proc (GetMouseXY)... then making of new elevators would be piece of cake 8(
well you are wrong
Fallout script can draw on scren using commands like this:
createwin
(this is list of all non typical commands from Noid compiler )
"callstart" => [ 1, 0x8008, false ],
"exec" => [ 1, 0x8009, false ],
"spawn" => [ 1, 0x800a, false ],
"fork" => [ 1, 0x800b, false ],
"exit" => [ 0, 0x800e, false ],
"detach" => [ 0, 0x800f, false ],
"floor" => [ 1, 0x8044, true ],
"wait" => [ 1, 0x8047,true ]
"cancel" => [ 1, 0x8048, false ],
"cancelall" => [ 0, 0x8049, false ],
"startcritical" => [ 0, 0x804a, false ],
"endcritical" => [ 0, 0x804b, false ],
"sayquit" => [ 0, 0x804c, false ],
"sayend" => [ 0, 0x804d, false ],
"saystart" => [ 0, 0x804e, false ],
"saystartpos" => [ 1, 0x804f, false ],
"sayreplytitle" => [ 1, 0x8050, false ],
"saygotoreply" => [ 1, 0x8051, false ],
"sayreply" => [ 2, 0x8052, false ],
"sayoption" => [ 2, 0x8053, false ],
"saymessage" => [ 2, 0x8054, false ],
"sayreplywindow" => [ 5, 0x8055, false ],
"sayoptionwindow" => [ 5, 0x8056, false ],
"sayborder" => [ 2, 0x8057, false ],
"sayscrollup" => [ 6, 0x8058, false ],
"sayscrolldown" => [ 6, 0x8059, false ],
"sayspacing" => [ 1, 0x805a, false ],
"sayoptioncolor" => [ 3, 0x805b, false ],
"sayreplycolor" => [ 3, 0x805c, false ],
"sayrestart" => [ 0, 0x805d, false ],
"saygetlastpos" => [ 0, 0x805e, false ],
"sayreplyflags" => [ 1, 0x805f, false ],
"sayoptionflags" => [ 1, 0x8060, false ],
"saymessagetimeout" => [ 1, 0x8061, false ],
"createwin" => [ 5, 0x8062, false ],
"deletewin" => [ 1, 0x8063, false ],
"selectwin" => [ 1, 0x8064, false ],
"resizewin" => [ 5, 0x8065, false ],
"scalewin" => [ 5, 0x8066, false ],
"showwin" => [ 0, 0x8067, false ],
"fillwin" => [ 3, 0x8068, false ],
"fillrect" => [ 7, 0x8069, false ],
"fillwin3x3" => [ 1, 0x806a, false ],
"display" => [ 1, 0x806b, false ],
"displaygfx" => [ 5, 0x806c, false ],
"displayraw" => [ 1, 0x806d, false ],
"loadpalettetable" => [ 1, 0x806e, false ],
"fadein" => [ 1, 0x806f, false ],
"fadeout" => [ 1, 0x8070, false ],
"gotoxy" => [ 2, 0x8071, false ],
"print" => [ 1, 0x8072, false ],
"format" => [ 6, 0x8073, false ],
"printrect" => [ 3, 0x8074, false ],
"setfont" => [ 1, 0x8075, false ],
"settextflags" => [ 1, 0x8076, false ],
"settextcolor" => [ 3, 0x8077, false ],
"sethighlightcolor" => [ 3, 0x8078, false ],
"stopmovie" => [ 0, 0x8079, false ],
"playmovie" => [ 1, 0x807a, false ],
"movieflags" => [ 1, 0x807b, false ],
"playmovierect" => [ 5, 0x807c, false ],
"playmoviealpharect" => [ 2, 0x807d, false ],
"maybe_807e" => [ 0, 0x807e, false ],
"addregionflag" => [ 2, 0x8080, false ],
"addregionproc" => [ 5, 0x8081, false ],
"addregionrightproc" => [ 2, 0x8082, false ],
"deleteregion" => [ 1, 0x8083, false ],
"activateregion" => [ 2, 0x8084, false ],
"checkregion" => [ 1, 0x8085, false ],
"addbutton" => [ 5, 0x8086, false ],
"addbuttontext" => [ 2, 0x8087, false ],
"addbuttonflag" => [ 2, 0x8088, false ],
"addbuttongfx" => [ 4, 0x8089, false ],
"addbuttonproc" => [ 5, 0x808a, false ],
"addbuttonrightproc" => [ 3, 0x808b, false ],
"deletebutton" => [ 1, 0x808c, false ],
"hidemouse" => [ 0, 0x808d, false ],
"showmouse" => [ 0, 0x808e, false ],
"mouseshape" => [ 3, 0x808f, false ],
"refreshmouse" => [ 1, 0x8090, false ],
"setglobalmousefunc" => [ 4, 0x8091, false ],
"addnamedevent" => [ 2, 0x8092, false ],
"addnamedhandler" => [ 2, 0x8093, false ],
"clearnamed" => [ 1, 0x8094, false ],
"signalnamed" => [ 1, 0x8095, false ],
"addkey" => [ 2, 0x8096, false ],
"deletekey" => [ 1, 0x8097, false ],
"soundplay" => [ 2, 0x8098, true ],
"soundpause" => [ 1, 0x8099, false ],
"soundresume" => [ 1, 0x809a, false ],
"soundstop" => [ 1, 0x809b, false ],
"soundrewind" => [ 1, 0x809c, false ],
"sounddelete" => [ 1, 0x809d, false ],
"setoneoptpause" => [ 1, 0x809e, false ],
"selectfilelist" => [ 2, 0x809f, true ],
"tokenize" => [ 3, 0x80a0, true ],
- Red
- Hero of the Glowing Lands
- Posts: 2085
- Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 11:58 am
- Location: Nowhere (important anyway)
- Contact:
There are some pretty standard ones in there... I'm wondering wether you just pasted a semi-random portion of it...
Anyhoo, indeed, there are quite a few non-standard commands which might be of some use to use, but note the apparant lack of any input commands? Without user feedack, showing graphics is close to pointless.
That and still we'd probably need to do some extensive testing to make sure it all works properly which involves a lot of work but is indeed doable.
Anyhoo, indeed, there are quite a few non-standard commands which might be of some use to use, but note the apparant lack of any input commands? Without user feedack, showing graphics is close to pointless.
That and still we'd probably need to do some extensive testing to make sure it all works properly which involves a lot of work but is indeed doable.
...