Page 1 of 1

changing graphics of object.

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2003 11:23 am
by Jargo
Is there a procedure (or function) in fallout2 scripting langauge that change graphics of object (FrameID). :?:

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2003 11:07 pm
by Red
FIC and FIME allows you to change the assignement of what a weapon looks like while you wear it, as well as the one it uses in the inventory.

To add new items though you'll need to add new FRMs (and there's plenty of FRM converters that work for those).

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 9:59 am
by Jargo
Thanx RED

But i need to change graphics of critter/object dynamically in the game(in *.ipp script file of this critter/object).
There is function:

Code: Select all

GetFrameID(obj);
 opcode:  
 8149
This function returns frameID of critter/object but it does not change frameID.

frameID looks like that:

Code: Select all

01000040
1 2 3 4

1- object type
2- moveID
3- weaponID
4- objectID(number of *.frm file)
Every object on map has frameID (in Dims mapper it is called "[0x20] Object FRM ID")

Maybe there is a procedure that change frameID of object.
Something like changeframeID(obj,frameID);

Sorry for bad english.

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 7:16 pm
by Red
The only place in the code I saw a "change in graphics" was in the Den where Fred wins gambling and gives you money, however the trick the scripters used was change the critter's ID to another (just check the script out...)

Maybe you could do something like that instead?

The opcodes described are rather thoughrough. If you get the update last posted in the opcode thread of this forum and also hosted on the modding site of this update you'll find the latest opcodes and if "SetFrameID()" ins't in the list chances are the engine doesn't support such a command.

You MIGHT still have hope later on if BIS eventually decides to release the official compiler...

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 9:33 pm
by Jargo
Biiiiiiig Thx Red
This trick from Fred script will do the work :P

Last opcodes in my Stdlib.ipp are from 30.10.2002 .

Maybe you know what RetF and RetN procedure is doing. :?:

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 11:11 pm
by Red
Well, looking at the KA scripts, normally each function ends with a "return;", not with just a "end;"... RetF would suggest a "Return float" and N "return interger", and I know some code actually USES return values for functions... so you'll need to look for a function which returns a value to find an example using it though I'm not sure they'll use specifically RetF/RetN.

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:47 pm
by ABel
There was error in definition of RetF. It contained 80d0 instead of 800d.
I have not tested new version of RetF yet.

To return some result from your function you can use RetN, it is known to work properly.

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2003 7:30 pm
by Jargo
Yes
It is working .